The Adventure Begins

After 14 successful years in the residential remodeling industry I have decided that it is time for a change.  A variety of factors, both internal and external, have led me to this decision, and I am embracing it.  As I type this I am sitting in Sky Harbor Airport in Phoenix waiting to board a flight to cold and rainy Portland, Oregon.  I am enrolled in the United Bicycle Institute Professional Repair and Shop Operation course.  It is billed as a comprehensive 2 week course for aspiring bicycle mechanics and potential shop owners.  I’ll lump myself into the former category with the caveat that I’ve been working on bicycles for years and already consider myself a pretty decent mechanic.  However, upon my return from Portland I am planning to start a professional mobile bicycle repair business and I think that formal education is always a valuable pursuit.  Over the next 2 weeks I will post my impressions and observations about the nature of the course and the education it provides.  I also hope to have some time to sample a few of the locally brewed beers and explore Portland, as I have never been there.  Stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

